top of page
  • Writer's pictureDerek Schmitz

The Straw Ban Hurts People

Updated: Jun 14, 2019

I want to address something. Two words, plastic straws. I’m a disabled person, who happens to know other disabled people. In a vast majority of their medical supply packs/backpacks are plastic straws. We don’t use them to harm the environment, we use them to survive. Many disabled people, require straws to eat and drink. I know a few personally, who get all their nutrients for the day through a straw. I need straws to take my medication. A very small fraction of total oceanic waste is straws, yet that’s the thing people are targeting. And to those who say to use other materials: Metal and other types of straws, don’t offer the flexibility or sterility of plastic straws. Using these other straws are a hazard to a person, due to allergy, breaking, and choking hazards.


Disadvantages of Other Straw Types

We don’t hate the environment. As I’ve said, many disabled people require straws for their health and well-being, and groups of abled-bodied people are trying to take that away from us. California did. Please be considerate to the disabled people around you. Thank you.


Edited on Friday, June 14, 2019 at 11:24pm CDT to provide picture of Disadvantages of Other Straw Types

Edited on Friday, June 14, 2019 at 11:54pm CDT to add Edit footnotes

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Word Normal

Normal is a complex word for disabled people. Some prefer that it not be used, while some are completely fine with it. For me, normal is fine as long as it doesn’t compare disabled and abled people. F

"These/those people" is Derogatory to Disabled People

These words are extremely singling and upsetting to disabled people. It groups all disabled people together, and is most likely used in a way that insults a disabled person (i.e. These people aren't w

The Lady From Walmart

I had a woman recognize that I had CP from the way I walked tonight Walmart. We exchanged stories, and I found out that her daughter has Spina Bifida. Her daughter’s heel had to be amputated after a s

bottom of page